Violence at sporting events

Fans ignite flares during a football match
Fans ignite flares during a football match. (Photo: Keystone/Ennio Leanza)

Sport is a popular leisure activity. Each weekend in Switzerland thousands of fans, young and old, attend football and ice-hockey matches or other sporting events, or watch them on public viewing screens in restaurants and bars, and at other locations. And international sporting events, such as the world and European football championships, attract thousands of spectators too.

Unfortunately, sporting events also have a flip side: violent spectators who provoke fights, attack police officers and private security company employees, or discharge pyrotechnics or fireworks that endanger the safety of others.

Switzerland does much to counter spectator violence. The federal and cantonal authorities take an integrated policing approach that is in line with international standards and includes both repressive and preventive measures. Federal and cantonal security services, clubs and associations, spectator organisations and transport companies all work closely together to prevent violence and ensure the safety of spectators.

fedpol operates the HOOGAN database and ensures smooth co-operation between the Swiss authorities and their international partners. It provides the cantons with relevant data on known offenders and imposes specific measures, such as travel restrictions, to counter violence.

to the top Last modification 08.02.2012

Gewalt an Sportveranstaltungen

Fans brennen während einem Fussballspiel pyrotechnische Gegenstände ab
Fans brennen während einem Fussballspiel pyrotechnische Gegenstände ab. (Foto: Keystone/Ennio Leanza)

Sport ist eine beliebte Freizeitbeschäftigung. Jung und Alt besuchen auch in der Schweiz an den Wochenenden zu Tausenden Fussball-, Eishockeyspiele oder Veranstaltungen anderer Sportarten oder treffen sich zum Public Viewing in Restaurants, Bars oder auf öffentlichen Plätzen. Auch internationale Sportevents wie zum Beispiel die Welt- und Europameisterschaften im Fussball locken Tausende von Fans an den Austragungsort.

Leider kommt es bei Sportveranstaltungen auch zu unschönen Szenen: Gewaltbereite Fans provozieren untereinander Schlägereien, greifen private Sicherheitsdienste und Polizei an oder missbrauchen Pyrotechnik und Knallkörper.

Die Schweiz tut viel, um solche Gewalt an Sportveranstaltungen zu verhindern. Bund und Kantone verfolgen deshalb einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz, der auch internationalen Standards entspricht. Das heisst, es werden sowohl repressive als auch präventive Massnahmen umgesetzt. Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Sicherheitsbehörden von Bund und Kantonen, Vereinen, Verbänden, Fanorganisationen sowie Transportunternehmen ist in der Schweiz intensiv. Um Gewalt an Sportveranstaltungen zu verhindern, sind viele Akteure gefordert.

fedpol betreibt das Informationssystem HOOGAN und stellt die Zusammenarbeit mit ausländischen Partnerstellen sicher. fedpol unterstützt die Kantone mit relevanten Daten zu gewaltbereiten Personen und ergreift konkrete Massnahmen, beispielsweise in Form von Ausreisebeschränkungen.

nach oben Letzte Änderung 08.02.2012