Supporting police reform

Supporting police reform in partner states and international training programs are an important part of international police co-operation. Reform and training not only improve international co-operation, but also help to fight crime in the partner countries and improve Switzerland’s national security.

The Middle European Police Academy (MEPA) plays an important part in helping to improve cross-border co-operation through training programs. In order to fight the more serious forms of transnational organised crime, emphasis is placed on teaching special skills needed for international and cross-border police work, on aspects of police conduct and on the social, economic and political conditions in the countries involved. MEPA courses are aimed at leaders who are involved in operations in the field of organised crime-fighting. In order to take part in a course, participants must have advanced police training, several years of police experience and a good command of German. Courses for Swiss police are usually directed at officers from the Federal Criminal Police, the Border Guard Corps and the cantonal and municipal police corps. Besides Switzerland, other MEPA members include Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Slovenia, the Czech Republic and Hungary.

By supporting police reform, networks can be established with other international police authorities to facilitate police work. At the same time, this support creates a feeling of mutual goodwill towards Switzerland, which is reflected by the unbureaucratic support of Switzerland by other states, if requested. For this reason fedpol takes an active part in supporting the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation in planning and implementing the regional program for justice and police reform in South Eastern Europe. Co-operation in this field is focussed primarily on the project known as “Organised Crime Training Network for Operational Managers in South Eastern Europe” (further information is available on the website of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation SDC).

to the top Last modification 09.06.2015

Soutien de réformes policières

Le soutien de réformes policières dans des pays partenaires ainsi que la mise en place de mesures de formation internationales constituent des éléments importants de la coopération policière internationale. Les réformes et les mesures de formation améliorent la coopération internationale et ont des répercussions positives sur la lutte contre la criminalité au sein des pays partenaires ainsi que sur la sécurité intérieure de la Suisse.

S'agissant des mesures de formation internationales, l'Ecole de police d'Europe centrale (EPEC) constitue un pilier important de la coopération internationale. Le rôle de l'EPEC consiste à promouvoir la coopération internationale par le biais de mesures de formation. C'est notamment pour lutter contre les formes graves de criminalité transnationale organisée que des connaissances spécialisées doivent être transmises en vue du travail de police international et transfrontalier. Les conditions d'action policières ainsi que les données sociales, économiques et politiques des pays concernés doivent également être enseignées. Les cours de l'EPEC s'adressent aux cadres dirigeants ayant une activité opérationnelle dans le domaine de la lutte contre la criminalité organisée. Pour participer à un cours, il faut avoir accompli une formation supérieure pour le service policier, posséder plusieurs années d'expérience professionnelle dans le domaine et avoir de bonnes connaissances de l'allemand. En Suisse, ce sont avant tout les policiers de la Police judiciaire fédérale (PJF), du Corps des gardes-frontière (Cgfr) ainsi que des membres des autorités de police cantonales et municipales. Outre la Suisse, l'Allemagne, l'Autriche, la Slovaquie, la Slovénie, la Tchéquie et la Hongrie sont membres de l'EPEC.

Le soutien de réformes policières permet de constituer avec différentes autorités de police étrangères un réseau facilitant le travail de la police au quotidien. Ce soutien a des répercussions positives pour la Suisse, dans la mesure où une aide est fournie rapidement et simplement aux autorités helvétiques qui en ont fait la demande. C'est pourquoi fedpol soutient activement la Direction du développement et de la coopération (DDC) pour la planification et la mise en œuvre du programme régional pour les réformes policières et judiciaires dans le sud-est de l'Europe. A cet égard, le projet "Organised Crime Training Network for operational managers in South Eastern Europe" figure au centre de la collaboration (vous trouverez de plus amples informations à ce sujet sur le site Internet de la Direction du développement et de la coopération DDC).

vers le haut Dernière modification 23.03.2015