Counterfeit currency

Keywords: Counterfeit money

A child examines a 50-franc banknote
A child examines a 50-franc banknote. (Photo: Keystone/Gaetan Bally)

Compared to in other countries, counterfeit money is a very seldom occurrence in Switzerland because Swiss banknotes are forgery-proof. Banknote production is state-of-the-art and of a very high international standard. Forged banknotes can often be identified with the naked eye on the basis of various security features.

If obvious or suspected forgeries do appear, however, the police, banks, postal services or other institutions forward them to fedpol, who examines them and if necessary registers the material that has been used to manufacture them. Under the lead of the Office of the Attorney General criminal proceedings are opened, occasionally in consultation with the cantons and INTERPOL offices abroad. Counterfeiters in Switzerland are nearly always caught. In the last ten years, between 150 and 400 cases were reported to the Attorney General’s Office each year, in 2016 it was 203 cases.

The total amount of counterfeit money discovered in Switzerland each year remained more or less the same between 2006 and 2016: CHF 4-5 million involving all currencies and CHF 500,000 involving Swiss francs only. This is not a large amount, considering the total amount of money in circulation – CHF 72 billion.

Money forgers can be of any age or from any social background. Their motives are accordingly very diverse and can range from experimental zest to a lack of money. 

to the top Last modification 12.03.2018

Fausse monnaie

Mots-clés: Fausse monnaie

Une enfant examine un billet de cinquante francs
Une enfant examine un billet de cinquante francs. (Photo: Keystone/Gaetan Bally)

En comparaison avec d'autres pays, la fausse monnaie est très rare en Suisse, parce que les billets de banque sont pratiquement impossibles à falsifier. Leur production se fait à l'aide des techniques les plus modernes et se situe à un niveau de pointe en comparaison internationale. Les billets falsifiés peuvent être détectés à l'œil nu grâce aux différents éléments de sécurité que comprennent les vraies coupures.

Si des pièces de monnaie ou des billets de banque suspects ou clairement falsifiés entrent en circulation, la police, les banques, la poste ou d'autres institutions les transmettent à fedpol, qui les examine et les répertorie si nécessaire. Une procédure est alors ouverte sous la conduite du Ministère public de la Confédération (MPC), parfois en concertation avec les cantons ou les services étrangers d'Interpol. Le taux de réussite est élevé: en Suisse, les faussaires actifs sont presque toujours démasqués. Au cours des dix dernières années, la moyenne annuelle des cas signalés au MPC se situait entre 150 et 400.

Le montant annuel de la fausse monnaie découverte en Suisse est resté plus ou moins constant entre 2006 et 2017. La somme totale pour chacune de ces années oscillait entre 4 et 5 millions de francs, toutes devises confondues, dont un demi-million de francs suisses, un montant peu élevé au vu des 72 milliards de francs qui se trouvaient en circulation.

Il n'y a pas de tranche d'âge ou de classe sociale type pour les faux monnayeurs. Leurs motifs sont aussi variés que leur profil, allant de l'envie de tenter de nouvelles expériences au manque d'argent. 

vers le haut Dernière modification 27.04.2018