Communal police corps

Communal and municipal police

Besides the cantonal police, communal and municipal police corps are also an important part of the overall police structure of Switzerland. Communal police corps exist particularly in those cantons that are widely fragmented geographically (such as Valais or Graubünden) or whose communes have traditionally enjoyed a high level of autonomy. Some cantons, on the other hand, do not have communal police corps.

The police corps of the cities of Zurich and Lausanne are not only responsible for public law and order but they also assume criminal police tasks. There are a total of 300 communal police corps, some of which are consolidated in the Swiss Association of Municipal Police Chiefs.

In some cantons such as Bern there is a move to integrate municipal police corps, either wholly or partially, into the cantonal police force (so-called unitary police). In some places, communal police stations are being replaced by unitary police units made up of mobile and flexible action forces.

to the top Last modification 02.03.2015

Corps de police municipaux

Polices municipales

Mis à part la police cantonale, les polices municipales assument également un rôle important. Elles ont été instituées surtout dans les cantons dont le territoire est très dispersé (comme le Valais ou les Grisons) ou dont les communes jouissent traditionnellement d'une grande autonomie. D'autres cantons par contre ne possèdent pas de police municipale.

Les corps de police des villes de Zurich et de Lausanne ne sont pas seulement responsables du maintien de la sécurité et de l'ordre public, mais assument aussi des tâches de police judiciaire. En plus des corps de police cantonaux, il existe encore quelque 300 corps de police communaux, dont certains sont rattachés à la Conférence des directeurs des polices des villes de Suisse (CDPVS).

On constate dans quelques cantons (par ex. dans le canton de Berne) une tendance à intégrer totalement ou en partie les corps de police municipaux dans les polices cantonales (pour former ce qu'on appelle une police unique). En outre, en maints endroits, les postes de police municipaux sont remplacés par des unités disposant de forces de police mobiles et flexibles.

vers le haut Dernière modification 02.03.2015