Communal police corps

Communal and municipal police

Besides the cantonal police, communal and municipal police corps are also an important part of the overall police structure of Switzerland. Communal police corps exist particularly in those cantons that are widely fragmented geographically (such as Valais or Graubünden) or whose communes have traditionally enjoyed a high level of autonomy. Some cantons, on the other hand, do not have communal police corps.

The police corps of the cities of Zurich and Lausanne are not only responsible for public law and order but they also assume criminal police tasks. There are a total of 300 communal police corps, some of which are consolidated in the Swiss Association of Municipal Police Chiefs.

In some cantons such as Bern there is a move to integrate municipal police corps, either wholly or partially, into the cantonal police force (so-called unitary police). In some places, communal police stations are being replaced by unitary police units made up of mobile and flexible action forces.

to the top Last modification 02.03.2015

Kommunale Polizeikorps

Gemeinde- und Stadtpolizei

Neben den Kantonspolizeien spielen auch die Gemeinde- bzw. Stadtpolizeien eine wichtige Rolle. Gemeindepolizeien sind vor allem in Kantonen entstanden, die geografisch stark zergliedert sind (wie typischerweise im Wallis oder in Graubünden) oder deren Gemeinden traditionellerweise eine hohe Autonomie geniessen. Andere Kantone wiederum kennen keine Gemeindepolizei.

Die Polizeikorps der Städte Zürich und Lausanne wahren nicht nur die öffentliche Sicherheit und Ordnung, sondern übernehmen auch kriminalpolizeiliche Aufgaben. Neben kantonalen Korps gibt es noch ca. 300 Gemeindepolizeien. Diese sind zum Teil in der „Schweizerischen Vereinigung der städtischen Polizeichefs“ (SVSP) zusammengeschlossen.

In einzelnen Kantonen besteht die Tendenz, städtische Polizeikorps ganz oder teilweise in die Kantonspolizei (z.B. in Bern) zu integrieren (sog. Einheitspolizei). Zudem werden mancherorts kommunale Polizeiposten durch Einheitspolizeien mit mobilen und flexiblen Einsatzkräften ersetzt.

nach oben Letzte Änderung 02.03.2015