Cantonal police corps

The cantonal police director of each canton is a member of the cantonal government and assumes political responsibility for the cantonal police. The organisational and financial framework is defined by the cantonal parliament. In most cantons, the tasks, powers and organisational structure of the respective police corps are defined in detail in a police law.

The various cantonal police laws largely correspond to each other with regard to the powers and duties of police officers. The reason for this is that if individual police measures involve the infringement of a citizen’s basic rights, the cantons have to comply with the provisions of Swiss constitutional law, international law (especially the European Human Rights Convention) and the practice of the Federal Court. Naturally, these provisions apply to all cantons alike.

With regard to the structure, training, arming, equipping and uniforming of their police, the cantons largely have the freedom of discretion. At the same time, there is a high level of co-operation between the various corps:

  • German-speaking cantons usually subdivide their corps into three main areas: criminal police, security police and traffic police. 
  • French-speaking cantons arrange their corps in two groups: gendarmerie and sûreté. The former corresponds to the Swiss-German security police and usually includes the traffic police, whilst the latter is the equivalent to the criminal police. 
  • The police force of the Italian-speaking canton Ticino has its own structure based on geographical sectors. 
  • Canton Basel Stadt warrants special mention since the criminal police in that canton are headed by the public prosecutor’s office, whereas search and alerts are the responsibility of the police command. 

The various corps also have special units, intervention groups and individual units, such as the lake police and airport police.

Links

to the top Last modification 09.06.2015

Corps de police cantonaux

Dans les cantons, la responsabilité politique des corps de police cantonaux incombe au directeur ou à la directrice responsable de la police en tant que membre du gouvernement cantonal. Le parlement cantonal fixe les bases organisationnelles et les limites financières. La majorité des cantons règlent les tâches et les compétences ainsi que l'organisation de leurs corps de police dans une loi cantonale sur la police.

Les différentes lois cantonales sur la police sont largement harmonisées entre elles, surtout pour ce qui est des droits et des obligations des policiers. La raison en est la suivante: si certaines mesures de police impliquent des atteintes aux droits fondamentaux des citoyens, les cantons se doivent d'observer, lors de leur mise en œuvre, les prescriptions du droit constitutionnel suisse et du droit international (en premier lieu de la Convention européenne des droits de l'homme), ainsi que la pratique en la matière du Tribunal fédéral. Ces prescriptions ont la même valeur pour tous les cantons.

En revanche, pour ce qui est de l'organisation de leur police, y compris la formation, l'armement, l'équipement et les uniformes, les cantons ont une grande marge de manœuvre. La coopération entre les corps de police n'en demeure pas moins étroite:

  • Les cantons suisses alémaniques structurent en général leurs forces de police en trois secteurs principaux: la police judiciaire, la police de sécurité et la police de la circulation.
  • Les cantons romands en revanche opèrent une subdivision binaire entre gendarmerie et sûreté. La gendarmerie est l'équivalent de la "Sicherheitspolizei" en Suisse alémanique; la police de la circulation lui est généralement rattachée ou subordonnée. La sûreté est l'homologue de la " Kriminalpolizei" (police judiciaire). 
  • Le canton italophone du Tessin a opté pour une tout autre solution en répartissant ses forces de police en fonction des secteurs géographiques. 
  • Mentionnons enfin la situation spéciale du canton de Bâle-Ville où la police judiciaire dépend du Parquet de Bâle-Ville et le Service des enquêtes du Commandement de la police cantonale. 

Les corps de police disposent en outre d'unités spéciales, de groupes d'intervention et d'organes spéciaux tels que la police du lac ou la police aéroportuaire.

Liens

vers le haut Dernière modification 02.03.2015