MROS practice with respect to the Federal Act on the Freezing and the Restitution of Illicit Assets held by Foreign Politically Exposed Persons (FIAA)

Scope of Art. 7 FIAA in relation to Art. 9 AMLA

The Foreign Illicit Assets Act (FIAA; SR 196.1) came into force on 1 July 2016. It sets out new powers for MROS. Certain financial intermediaries contacted the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA) and MROS to request clarification regarding mandatory SARs under this law. In order to answer these questions, these two authorities present a common position below.

A. Commencement of the legislation and competent authorities

The FIAA sets out an obligation for individuals and institutions to report and inform MROS without delay of assets covered by a freeze (Art. 7 para. 1 to 3 FIAA). The information contained in these reports is then transmitted to the FDFA and the FOJ by MROS (Art. 7 para. 5 FIAA).

If individuals or institutions are unsure about filing a mandatory SAR, practice prior to the FIAA shows that they sometimes contacted the competent authority to request clarification. Up until 30 June 2016, they contacted the FDFA (Directorate of International Law: DIL) for this purpose. Now, if the FDFA (DIL) receives any new requests for information in this regard, it will refer them to MROS, which has been the competent authority since 1 July 2016.

A limited number of information requests that were sent to the FDFA (DIL) before 1 July 2016 are still pending. In the absence of any specific transitional arrangements on this issue in the FIAA, these requests will be handled and completed by the FDFA (DIL), which will send MROS a copy of its final correspondence on the matter.

The powers and tasks of MROS under the FIAA are set out in Article 7 and Article 13. MROS is therefore not obliged to analyse the information received by virtue of Article 7 FIAA, contrary to what Article 23 AMLA provides for regarding SARs received on the basis of this act.

B. Reports in accordance with Art. 7 FIAA

As the reports under Article 7 FIAA are briefer than those provided for under Article 9 AMLA, an ad hoc form has been drawn up by MROS for this purpose and will be published on its website to help individuals and institutions report frozen assets (cf. appendix).

Definitions of ‘Politically Exposed Persons’ (PEPs) and ‘close associates’
In practice, there are no issues regarding the duty to report bank accounts held by PEPs as defined under Article 2 letter a FIAA (or where PEPs are beneficial owners) mentioned in the lists attached to asset freeze orders. The same applies when a close associate as defined under Article 2 letter b FIAA features in these lists. Usually, financial intermediaries report such bank accounts very quickly, namely within a few days of a new freeze order by the Federal Council coming into effect.

Definition of ‘assets’
The term ‘assets’ is legally defined under Article 2 letter c FIAA. The dispatch clarifies this notion by referring in particular to its meaning in criminal law. Assets may be tangible or intangible, movable or immovable. The dispatch also refers to the former freeze orders that used the terms ‘funds’ and ‘economic resources’ specific to sanctions legislation.
It follows from the above that the assets within the meaning of Article 2 letter c FIAA have a very broad scope (Federal Gazette 2014 5150 s.). Assets (‘funds’ according to the old terminology) are therefore all financial assets, including cash, cheques, monetary claims, drafts, money orders and other payment instruments, deposits, balances on accounts, debts and debt obligations, securities and debt instruments, stocks and shares, certificates representing securities, bonds, notes, warrants, options, mortgage bonds and derivatives, interest, dividends or other income accruing from or generated by assets, credit, right of set-off, guarantees, performance bonds, other financial commitments, letters of credit, bills of lading, bills of sale and documents showing evidence of an interest in funds or financial resources. Assets (‘economic resources’ in the old terminology) are also assets of every kind, whether intangible or tangible, movable or immovable, in particular property and luxury goods.

Definition of ‘persons and institutions’
The definition of ‘persons and institutions’ contained in the FIAA is broad and is clarified in the preparatory work. Firstly it includes financial intermediaries as defined under Article 2 paragraph 1 letter a AMLA and dealers as defined under Article 2 paragraph 1 letter b AMLA. It also includes other actors to which the due diligence obligations set out in AMLA do not apply. This is the case for authorities, such as land registries, which are required to report properties covered by a freeze (Federal Gazette 2014 5164). It also applies to company administrators, asset managers, securities depositaries or even traders, who may also fall under this definition (Federal Gazette 2014 5164 s).

C. Relationship between the FIAA and AMLA

Some practical difficulties have arisen when financial intermediaries as defined under Article 2 paragraph 1 letter a AMLA are called on to credit Swiss bank accounts held by persons or non-listed commercial companies with incoming wire transfers corresponding to the execution of commercial contracts concluded with foreign companies controlled by listed PEPs. Such difficulties may arise particularly in connection with contracts for the international sale of goods, when the seller has a Swiss bank account and the buyer is a company domiciled abroad and controlled by a listed PEP. Financial intermediaries that receive a wire transfer from abroad sometimes wonder whether it can be credited to the holder of the account in Switzerland without being subject to a SAR under the FIAA, or if instead the sum has to be frozen as an ‘asset’ of a listed PEP and be made the subject of a corresponding SAR.

Principles to comply with when applying Article 7 FIAA
Although the aims of the FIAA and the AMLA are not the same, these two pieces of legislation are complementary and should be applied in practice in a coherent manner. The concern about making it as easy as possible for financial intermediaries to implement the FIAA by assigning MROS the role of single point of contact to receive SARs instead of the FDFA has been clearly articulated during the preparatory work and parliamentary debates (Federal Gazette 2014 5164). It is therefore important to ensure that SARs filed under Article 7 FIAA and SARs filed under Article 9 AMLA do not produce results that are insufficiently coordinated or even contradictory. In this context, it is important to comply with the following principles:

  1. Filing a SAR under Article 7 FIAA does not exempt the financial intermediary or dealer from filing a SAR under Article 9 AMLA (Federal Gazette 2014 5164 s.) if necessary, or from complying with its due diligence obligations in accordance with AMLA.
  2. Conversely, filing a SAR under Article 9 AMLA does not exempt the financial intermediary or the dealer from filing a SAR under Article 7 FIAA if necessary.
  3. No report should be filed under Article 7 FIAA when:
    – the account holder (or beneficial owner) is a PEP whose name does not appear in the appendix to the freeze order;
    – the account holder (or beneficial owner) is a close associate whose name does not appear in the appendix to the freeze order.
  4. ‘Funds’ and ‘economic resources’ as used in old freeze orders (and sanction orders on the basis of the EmbA) constitute assets and must therefore be reported in accordance with Article 7 FIAA.
  5. The freezing of assets under Article 3 FIAA is not a commercial sanction. However, all assets in Switzerland of a company with its headquarters in Switzerland and which is controlled by a listed PEP (or a listed close associate) must be reported under Article 7 FIAA and will therefore be frozen.
  6. When international wire transfers are received by financial intermediaries in order to be credited to the Swiss accounts of non-listed clients, and even if the transfer corresponds to the execution of a contractual obligation concluded with a listed person (or a company controlled by a listed person), it is not necessary to file a SAR under Article 7 FIAA once the listed person has permanently divested themsef of the asset through payment to the financial intermediary. In such cases, the financial intermediary is still required to clarify the background and purpose of the transaction in accordance with its due diligence obligations arising from AMLA. If necessary, it may be required to file a SAR under Article 9 AMLA and it still has the option of filing a voluntary SAR under Article 305ter paragraph 2 SCC. However, under the FIAA, the aforementioned clarification is not its responsibility.
  7. Persons or institutions who are not financial intermediaries or dealers according to AMLA are required to file a SAR under Article 7 FIAA provided they hold or administer assets in Switzerland belonging to persons affected by an asset freeze (Art. 7 para. 1 FIAA). The same applies if, without holding or administering such assets in Switzerland, these persons or institutions have knowledge of such assets by virtue of the functions they perform (Art. 7 para. 2 FIAA). As these persons and institutions are not subject to the due diligence obligations set out in AMLA, they do not have to clarify the background and purpose of the transactions, or file a SAR under Article 9 AMLA.

Documentation

Documents

  • MROS’s practice (PDF, 1.29 MB)

    A synthesis of MROS’s Office practice since 2004

Links

  • Federal Gazette 2014 5207

    (Federal Gazette 2014 5510 s, 2014 5164 s)
    This document doesn’t exist in English. (French version).

to the top Last modification 01.05.2011

Pratique du MROS au sujet de la loi fédérale sur le blocage et la restitution des valeurs patrimoniales d’origine illicite de personnes politiquement exposées à l’étranger (LVP)

Portée de l’art. 7 LVP par rapport à l’art. 9 LBA

La loi sur les valeurs patrimoniales d’origine illicite (LVP; RS 196.1) est entrée en vigueur le 1er juillet 2016. Elle prévoit de nouvelles compétences pour le MROS. Certains intermédiaires financiers se sont adressés tant au Département fédéral des affaires étrangères (DFAE) qu’au MROS pour demander des clarifications concernant l’obligation de communiquer selon cette loi. Pour répondre à leurs questions, les deux autorités susmentionnées présentent ici une position commune:

A. Entrée en vigueur de la loi et autorités compétentes

La LVP instaure, pour les personnes et les institutions, une obligation de communiquer et de renseigner sans délai au MROS les valeurs patrimoniales tombant sous le coup d’une mesure de blocage (art. 7, al. 1 à 3, LVP). Les informations contenues dans ces annonces sont ensuite transmises par le MROS au DFAE et à l’Office fédéral de la justice (OFJ) (art.7, al. 5, LVP).

Si des personnes ou institutions ont des doutes quant à l’obligation d’effectuer une communication, la pratique antérieure à la LVP démontre qu’elles prennent parfois contact avec l’autorité compétente pour demander des précisions. Jusqu’au 30 juin 2016, elles s’adressaient pour ce faire au DFAE (Direction du droit international public; DDIP). La DDIP les invite désormais à contacter le MROS, qui est la nouvelle autorité compétente depuis le 1er juillet 2016, pour le cas où il recevrait de nouvelles demandes de renseignement à ce sujet.

Un nombre restreint de demandes de renseignement qui ont été adressées à la DDIP avant le 1er juillet 2016 sont toujours en cours de traitement. En l’absence de disposition transitoire spécifique sur cette question dans la LVP, ces demandes seront traitées jusqu’à leur terme par la DDIP, qui mettra le MROS en copie de ses ultimes correspondances à ce sujet.

Les compétences et les tâches du MROS au titre de la LVP découlent des art. 7 et 13 de cette loi. Ceux-ci n’imposent pas au MROS de procéder à une analyse des informations reçues, contrairement à ce qui est prévu pour les communications de soupçons adressées au MROS en vertu de la LBA, comme le stipule l’art. 23 de cette loi.

B. Communication selon l’art. 7 LVP

La communication selon l’art. 7 LVP étant plus sommaire que la communication selon l’art. 9 LBA, un formulaire ad hoc a été établi à cet effet par le MROS et sera mis en ligne sur son site pour faciliter la tâche des personnes et institutions amenées à annoncer des valeurs patrimoniales bloquées (cf. annexe).

Notions de «personnes politiquement exposées à l’étranger (PPE)» et de «proches»
En pratique, l’obligation d’annoncer des comptes en banque détenus par des PPE au sens de l’art. 2, let. a, LVP (ou dont des PPE sont ayants droits économiques) mentionnées dans les listes annexées aux ordonnances de blocage, ne pose pas de difficultés. Il en va de même lorsqu’un proche au sens de l’art. 2, let. b, LVP, figure lui-même dans ces listes. Le plus souvent, de telles communications sont faites très rapidement par les intermédiaires financiers concernés, soit quelques jours à peine après l’entrée en vigueur d’une nouvelle ordonnance de blocage du Conseil fédéral.

Notion de «valeurs patrimoniales»
La notion de «valeurs patrimoniales» fait l’objet d’une définition légale à l’art. 2, let. c, LVP. Le message explicite cette notion en faisant notamment référence à l’acception qu’elle revêt en droit pénal. Les valeurs patrimoniales peuvent être des valeurs matérielles ou immatérielles, mobilières ou immobilières. Le message renvoie également aux anciennes ordonnances de blocage qui utilisaient la terminologie «avoirs» et «ressources économiques» propre au droit des sanctions.
Il résulte de ce qui précède que les valeurs patrimoniales au sens de l’art. 2, let. c, LVP, ont une portée très large (FF 2014 5150 s.). Sont ainsi des valeurs patrimoniales («avoirs» selon l’ancienne terminologie) tous les actifs financiers, y compris le numéraire, les chèques, les créances monétaires, les lettres de change, les mandats ou autres moyens de paiement, les dépôts, les créances et reconnaissances de dette, les titres et titres de dette, les certificats de titres, les obligations, les titres de créances, les options, les lettres de gage, les dérivés; les recettes d’intérêts, les dividendes ou autres revenus ou plus-values engendrés par des biens en capital; les crédits, les droits à des compensations, les cautions, les garanties d’exécution de contrats ou autres engagements financiers; les accréditifs, les connaissements, les contrats d’assurance, les documents de titrisation de parts à des fonds ou à d’autres ressources financières et tout autre instrument de financement des exportations. Sont également des valeurs patrimoniales («ressources économiques» selon l’ancienne terminologie) les valeurs de quelque nature que ce soit, corporelles ou incorporelles, mobilières ou immobilières, en particulier les immeubles et les biens de luxe.

Notion de «personnes ou institutions»
La notion de «personnes ou institutions» contenue dans la LVP est large et fait l’objet de précisions dans les travaux préparatoires. Elle englobe d’abord les intermédiaires financiers au sens de l’art. 2, al. 1, let. a, LBA, et les négociants au sens de l’art. 2, al. 1, let. b, LBA. Elle englobe également d’autres acteurs auxquels n’incombent donc pas les obligations de diligence énoncées par la LBA. Il en va ainsi des autorités telles que les registres fonciers, qui doivent annoncer les immeubles tombant sous le coup d’un blocage (FF 2014 5164). Il en va également ainsi des administrateurs de société, des gestionnaires de fortune, des dépositaires de valeurs ou encore des commerçants pouvant tomber sous le coup de cette notion (FF 2014 5164 s.).

C. Coordination LVP – LBA

Des difficultés pratiques se sont parfois posées lorsque des intermédiaires financiers au sens de l’art. 2, al. 1, let. a, LBA, ont été appelés à créditer, sur des comptes bancaires suisses détenus par des personnes ou des sociétés commerciales non listées, des virements entrants correspondant à l’exécution de contrats commerciaux passés avec des sociétés étrangères contrôlées par des PPE listées. De telles difficultés peuvent notamment surgir à l’occasion de l’exécution de contrats de vente internationale de marchandises lorsque le vendeur dispose d’un compte en banque en Suisse et que l’acheteur est une société domiciliée à l’étranger et contrôlée par une PPE listée. Les intermédiaires financiers qui reçoivent alors un versement en provenance de l’étranger se demandent parfois si celui-ci peut être crédité sur le compte du client détenteur d’un compte suisse sans faire l’objet d’une communication selon la LVP, ou si la somme doit au contraire être bloquée en tant que «valeur patrimoniale» d’une PPE listée et faire l’objet d’une communication correspondante.

Principes à suivre dans l’application de l’art. 7 LVP
Si les objectifs de la LVP et de la LBA ne sont pas les mêmes, ces deux textes législatifs sont néanmoins complémentaires et leur application dans la pratique doit être cohérente. La question de faciliter au maximum la mise en œuvre de la LVP pour les intermédiaires financiers, en chargeant notamment le MROS en sa qualité de «guichet unique» de réceptionner les communications en lieu et place du DFAE, a été clairement exprimée durant les travaux préparatoires et les débats parlementaires (FF 2014 5164). Il importe par conséquent de veiller à ce que la communication selon l’art. 7 LVP et la communication selon l’art. 9 LBA n’aboutissent pas à des résultats insuffisamment coordonnés, voire contradictoires. Dans ce contexte, les principes suivants doivent être observés:

  1. Une communication selon l’art. 7 LVP ne dispense pas l’intermédiaire financier ou le négociant d’effectuer, le cas échéant, une communication selon l’art. 9 LBA (FF 2014 5164 s.) ni de remplir ses obligations de diligence en vertu de la LBA.
  2. A l’inverse, une communication selon l’art. 9 LBA ne dispense pas non plus l’intermédiaire financier ou le négociant d’effectuer, le cas échéant, une communication selon l’art. 7 LVP.
  3. Aucune communication selon l’art. 7 LVP ne doit être faite lorsque:
    – le titulaire d’un compte (ou l’ayant droit économique) est une PPE dont le nom ne figure pas dans l’annexe de l’ordonnance de blocage ;
    – le titulaire d’un compte (ou l’ayant droit économique) est un proche d’une PPE, mais que son nom ne figure pas dans l’annexe de l’ordonnance de blocage.
  4. Les «avoirs» et les «ressources économiques» au sens des anciennes ordonnances de blocage (et des ordonnances de sanctions prises en application de la LEmb) constituent des valeurs patrimoniales et doivent donc faire l’objet d’une communication selon l’art. 7 LVP.
  5. Le blocage des valeurs patrimoniales au sens de l’art. 3 LVP n’est pas une sanction de nature commerciale. Toutes les valeurs patrimoniales détenues en Suisse par une société qui a son siège en Suisse et qui est contrôlée par une PPE listée (ou un proche listé) doivent cependant faire l’objet d’une communication selon l’art. 7 LVP et sont donc bloquées.
  6. Lorsqu’un virement international est réceptionné par des intermédiaires financiers en vue de créditer le compte suisse d’un client non listé et même si ce virement correspond à l’exécution d’une obligation contractuelle passée avec une personne listée (ou une société contrôlée par une personne listée), il n’y a en principe pas lieu d’effectuer une communication selon l’art. 7 LVP dès lors que la personne listée s’est définitivement dessaisie de son avoir par le paiement à l’intermédiaire financier. Dans un tel cas, l’intermédiaire financier demeure toutefois tenu de clarifier l’arrière-plan et le but de la transaction conformément à ses obligations de diligence découlant de la LBA. Le cas échéant, il peut donc être tenu d’effectuer une communication selon l’art. 9 LBA. Il dispose aussi toujours du droit de communiquer en vertu de l’art. 305ter, al. 2, CP. La clarification précitée ne lui incombe cependant pas en vertu de la LVP.
  7. Les personnes ou les institutions qui n’ont ni la qualité d’intermédiaire financier ni celle de négociant au sens de la LBA sont tenues d’effectuer une communication selon l’art. 7 LVP pour autant qu’elles détiennent ou gèrent en Suisse des valeurs patrimoniales de personnes tombant sous le coup d’une mesure de blocage (art. 7, al. 1, LVP). Il en va de même si, sans détenir ou gérer en Suisse de telles valeurs patrimoniales, ces personnes ou institutions ont connaissance de telles valeurs de par leurs fonctions (art. 7, al. 2, LVP). Ces personnes ou institutions n’étant pas assujetties aux obligations de diligence prévues par la LBA, elles n’ont pas à clarifier l’arrière-plan et le but de la transaction, ni à effectuer de communication selon l’art. 9 LBA.

Documentation

Documents

  • La pratique du MROS (PDF, 1.62 MB)

    Synthèse de la pratique du MROS publiée dan les rapports annuel depuis 2004

Liens

vers le haut Dernière modification 01.05.2011