Paedophile crime

The law in Switzerland

Sexual acts with children are prohibited in Switzerland under Article 187 of the Swiss Criminal Code (SCC). Further articles of the law may also apply, for example Article 189 SCC (sexual assault) or Article 190 SCC (rape), depending on the severity of the offence.

The role of fedpol

The cantons are responsible for prosecuting paedophile crime. They are supported in this task by fedpol:

  • fedpol is a member of NEDIK, a network that supports the investigation of digital crime. The network was established in 2018 by the Conference of Cantonal Police Commanders of Switzerland (CCPCS) and plays a coordinating role in the fight against digital crime. Its tasks include ensuring the transfer of knowledge and exchange of best practices as well as compiling a national case overview. Within the network, fedpol plays a coordinating role between the cantons and Switzerland’s international partners, Europol and INTERPOL.
  • fedpol’s tasks include processing and triaging reports from the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children (NCMEC). The NCMEC is a non-profit organisation that was founded in the USA in 1984. Its primary objective is to prevent the sexual exploitation of children and to find missing children. When fedpol receives a report of suspicious activity from the NCMEC, it examines the report in detail and forwards the file to the appropriate cantonal police service if the suspicion is substantiated. One such case is featured in the fedpol 2022 Annual Report.
  • fedpol operates the national hash database, which allows the automatic identification of known images, and compiles analysis reports on digital crime. It also represents Switzerland in international expert groups such as Europol’s Victim Identification Taskforce or its Trace an Object campaign, which calls on members of the public to help identify objects from the background of an image with sexually explicit material involving children.
  • fedpol is the single point of contact for identifying victims in INTERPOL’s International Child Sexual Exploitation database.

You can report websites or online images containing sexual pictures of children or illegal pornography (i.e. images of sexual acts with children or animals or of sexual violence among adults) here:

Note: Any person who saves or distributes images or videos containing illegal pornography is liable to prosecution. We therefore advise you to use the above-mentioned form.

Sexual abuse of children abroad

People who travel abroad with the intention of sexually abusing children exploit the differences in the law enforcement system of the country in question and Switzerland. They often also abuse the child’s trust, capitalise on poverty and exploit social weaknesses among the local population.

Links

Last modification 26.10.2023

Top of page

https://www.esbk.admin.ch/content/fedpol/en/home/kriminalitaet/paedokriminalitaet.html

Pédocriminalité

En Suisse

En Suisse, les actes d'ordre sexuel avec des enfants sont interdits et sont poursuivis pénalement en vertu de l'art. 187 CP. Divers articles de loi peuvent s'appliquer en fonction de la gravité de l'infraction (par ex. l'art. 189 CP, contrainte sexuelle, ou l'art. 190 CP, viol).

Rôle de fedpol

En Suisse, la lutte contre la pédocriminalité est une tâche conjointe: fedpol soutient les cantons, qui sont compétents en matière de poursuite pénale:

  • fedpol fait partie de NEDIK, le réseau national de soutien aux enquêtes dans la lutte contre la criminalité informatique, fondé en 2018 par la Conférence des commandantes et commandants des polices cantonales de Suisse (CCPCS). NEDIK permet de coordonner la lutte contre la cybercriminalité, de garantir le transfert de connaissances et d'échanger les meilleures pratiques, ce qui rend possible un aperçu des cas au niveau national. Au sein de NEDIK, fedpol joue un rôle de coordination entre les cantons et les partenaires internationaux comme Europol et INTERPOL;
  • Dans ce cadre, fedpol traite et trie les communications de soupçons provenant du National Center for Missing and Exploited Children (NCMEC). Fondé aux États-Unis en 1984, le NCMEC est une organisation privée à but non lucratif, dont l'objectif principal est de retrouver des enfants disparus et de prévenir l'exploitation sexuelle des enfants. fedpol reçoit les communications de soupçons des autorités américaines (annonces NCMEC), les examine et, si les soupçons sont fondés, transmet un dossier à la police cantonale compétente. Le rapport annuel 2022 de fedpol présente l'un de ces cas plus en détail.
  • fedpol exploite la collection nationale de fichiers et de valeurs de hash, qui permet une catégorisation automatique d'images connues, établit des rapports d'analyse sur des phénomènes liés à la cybercriminalité et représente la Suisse au sein de groupes internationaux d'experts, par exemple la taskforce d'identification des victimes (Victim Identification Taskforce). fedpol participe aussi au projet Trace an Object d'Europol, dont le but est d'identifier des objets se trouvant en toile de fond de fichiers image ou vidéo pour les intégrer comme indices dans les enquêtes.
  • fedpol est le point de contact unique pour l'identification de victimes dans la base de données internationale sur l'exploitation sexuelle des enfants d'INTERPOL.

Vous souhaitez signaler des sites Internet ou des images à caractère pédocriminel ou de la pornographie interdite?

On entend par pornographie interdite des représentations d'actes sexuels impliquant des enfants, des animaux ou de la violence entre adultes.

Attention: quiconque enregistre ou diffuse, met en circulation des images ou des vidéos de pornographie interdite s'expose à des sanctions pénales. Veuillez par conséquent utiliser le formulaire susmentionné.

Abus sexuels commis à l'étranger sur des mineurs

Les personnes qui se rendent à l'étranger avec l'intention d'abuser sexuellement d'un enfant profitent des différences entre le système de poursuite pénale du pays concerné et celui de la Suisse. Ces individus abusent souvent de la crédulité des enfants, de la pauvreté et de la défavorisation sociale d'une partie de la population à l'étranger.

Liens

Dernière modification 26.10.2023

Début de la page

https://www.rayonverbot.ch/content/fedpol/fr/home/kriminalitaet/paedokriminalitaet.html