DNA analysis

DNA analysis

DNA analysis was developed in the 1980s and has become an important tool in criminal prosecution. Until 2000, DNA analysis in Switzerland was only used in direct comparison, i.e. DNA traces secured at a crime scene would be compared with a sample taken from a suspect. In July 2000, a central DNA profile database known as CODIS (Combined DNA Index System) was established and tested until 31 December 2004. The DNA Profiles Act and the corresponding implementing regulation became operative on 1 January 2005, whereupon CODIS was put into routine operation.

CODIS stores DNA profiles of offenders, suspects and crime scene traces. Automated comparison of DNA profiles allows the authorities to identify, in particular, crimes committed by serial and second offenders as well as organised criminal groups.

DNA analysis and identification has accelerated case solving, enabling several cases to be solved each day by providing either incriminating or exculpatory evidence. CODIS is also useful in identifying unknown or missing persons.

Legal basis

  • DNA testing

    Broadcast by swissinfo, 9 December 2009:
    DNA analysis was developed in the 1980s and has become an important tool in criminal prosecutions. The Swiss police can request DNA samples even from people suspected of minor offences, and civil rights campaigners argue that their powers are too wide. Protestors took to the streets recently to argue the point. (Julie Hunt, swissinfo.ch/SF 9.12.2009)

Multimedia

to the top Last modification 18.05.2015

Profils d'ADN

Profils d'ADN

Depuis son développement dans les années 80, la technique de l'analyse d'ADN est devenue un instrument incontournable des autorités de poursuite pénale. Jusqu’en 2000, l’analyse d’ADN n’était utilisée en Suisse que pour des comparaisons directes, c’est-à-dire pour comparer les traces relevées sur une scène de crime avec l'échantillon prélevé sur une personne suspecte. En juillet 2000, une banque de données sur les profils d'ADN, appelée CODIS (Combined DNA Index System), a été mise en place pour une période d'essai limitée au 31 décembre 2004 dans un premier temps.

Le 1er janvier 2005, la loi sur les profils d'ADN et l'ordonnance s'y référant - toutes deux adoptées par le Parlement - sont entrées en vigueur: depuis lors, la banque de données CODIS est exploitée à titre définitif.

Les profils d'ADN d'auteurs d'infractions et de suspects peuvent être enregistrés dans CODIS, de même que les traces relevées sur des scènes de crime. La comparaison automatisée de ces profils d'ADN permet notamment de reconnaître les délits attribuables à des criminels en série, à des récidivistes ou à des groupes de personnes opérant en bandes.

Grâce aux identifications effectuées sur la base de profils d'ADN, il est aujourd'hui possible de résoudre rapidement plusieurs cas par jour de manière fiable et objective, et ce à la charge ou à la décharge des suspects. Par ailleurs, les profils d’ADN peuvent aussi servir à identifier des personnes inconnues ou disparues.

Bases légales

  • DNA testing

    Contribution de swissinfo du 9 décembre 2009:
    DNA analysis was developed in the 1980s and has become an important tool in criminal prosecutions. The Swiss police can request DNA samples even from people suspected of minor offences, and civil rights campaigners argue that their powers are too wide. Protestors took to the streets recently to argue the point. (Julie Hunt, swissinfo.ch/SF 9.12.2009)

Multimédia

vers le haut Dernière modification 24.03.2015