Traffic fines from abroad

If you receive a traffic fine from abroad we advise you to pay it, otherwise you can expect further sanctions, such as an entry in the crime alert database, a ban on entering the country from which you have received the fine, or an increased penalty charge. If you revisit the country from which you have received a fine but not payed up, your car may even be confiscated. Or you may be subject to imprisonment.

Foreign authorities sometimes appoint private companies to recover fines imposed on public land. These are considered as private legal debts and may be collected by Swiss debt-collection agencies.

If you doubt the authenticity of a fine from abroad, contact the foreign police service responsible or, depending on the sender address, the appropriate local authority or company that has issued the fine.

The measures on non-payment of a fine vary from country to country. Below you can find information regarding measures by Switzerland’s neighbouring countries and the Netherlands

France

Switzerland and France have signed an agreement on certain aspects of traffic legislation, such as parking and speeding offences. On request, both countries provide mutual assistance in enforcing fines. That means the Swiss authorities can enforce the payment of fines issued by the French authorities to Swiss motorists, and vice versa. Electronic data is exchanged between the two countries via EUCARIS (European Car and Driving Licence Information System).

Germany

Switzerland and Germany have signed a police cooperation agreement that includes provisions on traffic legislation. Both countries exchange data on vehicles and vehicle owners on request, regardless of how high the fine is.

Italy

There is no agreement between Switzerland and Italy regulating traffic fines. Some Italian communes, for example Milan or Florence, have outsourced debt collection to private companies. Fines from Italy should be paid within the deadline because Italy imposes high reminder fees. Appeals must be made in writing and in Italian.
E.M.O. European Municipality Outsourcing

Austria/Principality of Liechtenstein

The current trilateral agreement does not regulate cooperation on fines. However, a new agreement will come into force in the second half of 2017 that will provide for the future exchange of vehicle and vehicle owner information on request.

Netherlands

Both countries can impose direct fines for traffic offences; the appropriate cantonal police service and the Dienst Wegverkeer (RDW) in Zoetermeer exchange vehicle owner information on request. Fines from the Dutch authorities should be paid on time because reminder fees for overdue fines are high and offenders can end up on the wanted list.

 


Foreign motorists

Foreign motorists who do not pay their Swiss fine and whose fine has subsequently been converted to a prison sentence are registered in the police alert database RIPOL for a period of up to three years. 

to the top Last modification 05.09.2017

Amendes émises à l'étranger

Les amendes émises à l'étranger devraient être payées, sans quoi des mesures sont prises à l'encontre des conducteurs fautifs domiciliés en Suisse. Par exemple un signalement dans un système de recherches, un refus d'entrée ou des frais de rappel élevés. En cas de nouveau séjour dans le pays concerné, le véhicule pourrait être séquestré jusqu'au paiement dû. Le contrevenant risque également une détention d'un ou plusieurs jours.
À l'étranger, les communes chargent également des entreprises privées de prélever des amendes de stationnement sur le domaine public. Ces amendes sont considérées comme des créances de droit privé et peuvent donc être encaissées par des agences suisses de recouvrement.

Si vous doutez de l'authenticité d'une facture en provenance de l'étranger, prenez contact avec la police étrangère compétente (à son adresse officielle). Ou, selon l'expéditeur, à la commune, à l'administration communale ou municipale concernée ou encore à l'institution chargée de l'émission des amendes.

Les mesures prises en cas de non-paiement d'une facture varient d'un pays à l'autre. Elles sont les suivantes dans les États limitrophes de la Suisse et les Pays-Bas:

France

La Suisse et la France ont signé un accord portant également sur la législation de la circulation routière. Sont notamment concernées les infractions comme le dépassement de la durée de stationnement autorisée ou de la vitesse maximale.
Les deux États pratiquent l'assistance en matière d'exécution. Cela signifie que la France peut demander aux autorités suisses de percevoir les amendes françaises, et inversement. L'échange électronique automatique des données se fait par l'intermédiaire d'EUCARIS (European Car and Driving Licence Information System).

Allemagne

Avec l'Allemagne, la Suisse a conclu un accord de police comprenant la législation sur la circulation routière. Sur demande, les États s'échangent automatiquement les données des véhicules et des conducteurs, indépendamment du montant des amendes.

Italie

Il n'existe pas d'accord entre la Suisse et l'Italie régissant les amendes. Plusieurs communes italiennes (entre autres Milan et Florence) ont pour cette raison délégué le recouvrement des amendes à des entreprises privées. Les amendes émises en Italie doivent être payées dans les délais car ce pays applique des frais de rappel très élevés. Les oppositions ne peuvent être adressées que par écrit et en italien.
E.M.O. European Municipality Outsourcing

Autriche et Principauté de Liechtenstein

L'actuel accord trilatéral ne prévoit pas de coopération au niveau des amendes. Durant le deuxième semestre 2017, un nouvel accord entrera toutefois en vigueur: sur demande, il sera désormais possible d'obtenir la transmission automatique des données concernant les véhicules et leurs détenteurs.

Pays-Bas

Les deux pays peuvent directement envoyer des amendes pour infractions au code de la route; sur demande, les polices cantonales et le service Wegverkeer (RDW) à Zoetermeer se transmettent mutuellement des informations relatives aux détenteurs de véhicules. Les amendes émises aux Pays-Bas doivent être payées dans les délais sous peine de se voir infliger des frais de rappel et de figurer sur la liste de recherches néerlandaise.

 


Conducteurs étrangers

En Suisse, les conducteurs étrangers dont les amendes impayées sont converties en peine privative de liberté sont signalés dans le système suisse de recherches (Ripol). La durée de validité de cette mesure va d'un an à trois ans.

vers le haut Dernière modification 05.09.2017