The Counterfeit Currency Central Office

The Counterfeit Currency Central Office is a section of the Federal Criminal Police, a main division of fedpol.

The Central Office examines and registers counterfeit and falsified legal tender. Currency offences as defined under Article 240 et seq. of the Swiss Criminal Code and Article 11 of the Federal Act on Currency and Payment Instruments are subject to federal jurisdiction (Art. 23 Criminal Procedure Code CrimPC). This means that proceedings are conducted under the guidance of the Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland, and the Central Office co-ordinates international cases handled by the cantons and foreign INTERPOL bureaus.

To combat counterfeit currency the Central Office adopts a range of preventive and advisory measures, and issues warnings to the public via the media. Other measures include close collaboration with banks and private companies. The Central Office also gives talks and runs training courses at police academies, banks and conferences.

Alerts on counterfeit currency are sent by the police and large financial institutions such as banks, post offices and railways, together with a sample of the forgery, directly to the Central Office. The advantage of this procedure is that the Central Office can examine new forgeries immediately and react quickly if necessary. On request by the Central Office, the Swiss National Bank instructs the banknote press to undertake a formal assessment of forged Swiss banknotes (see Article 14 of the 1929 International Convention for the Suppression of Counterfeit Currency). The Swiss National Bank does not have its own collection of national or international forgeries.

to the top Last modification 19.05.2015

Office central pour la répression du faux monnayage

L'unité suisse chargée de réprimer le faux monnayage est rattachée à la Police judiciaire fédérale, elle-même étant l'une des divisions principales de l'Office fédéral de la police (fedpol).

L'office central vérifie et enregistre les monnaies et billets de banque ayant cours légal, qui sont faux ou falsifiés. Les infractions relevant de la fausse monnaie (art. 240 et ss. du code pénal suisse et art. 11 de la loi fedérale sur l'unité monétaire et les moyens de paiement) ressortissant à la juridiction fédérale (art. 23 du Code de procédure pénale, CPP), les procédures pénales dans ce domaine sont menées sous la direction du Ministère public de la Confédération. L'office central assure quant à lui la coordination des affaires internationales entre les cantons (Etats composant la Confédération suisse) et les bureaux Interpol à l'étranger.

Les tâches de prévention, de conseil et de mise en garde par voie de presse font également partie de la lutte contre le faux monnayage, sans parler de l'étroite collaboration qui doit être établie avec les banques, les entreprises privées (distribution automatique de billets, services de sécurité), etc.

Sur le plan de la formation, l'office central tient des conférences et dispense des cours notamment dans les écoles de police et les banques.

Contrairement à ce qui se passe en Allemagne, l'office central reçoit directement les communications de fausse monnaie de la police ou des grandes institutions (banques, poste, chemins de fer, etc.), accompagnées des faux billets. Cette manière de procéder présente un avantage: elle permet à l'office central de réagir rapidement lorsque de nouvelles contrefaçons lui parviennent pour examen. A la demande de celui-ci, la BNS confie à l'imprimerie le soin d'établir une expertise des faux billets de banque suisses (voir art. 14 de la Convention internationale du 20 avril 1929 pour la répression du faux monnayage). Elle-même ne conserve aucune contrefaçon, ni suisse ni étrangère.

vers le haut Dernière modification 12.03.2015