Directorate Services

Tasks

The Services directorate is headed by Thomas Kräuchi and performs administrative and supportive duties.

Identification of people and traces The AFIS/DNA Services is the national competence and service centre for the biometric identification of persons and traces. Identification is carried out using the Automated Fingerprint Identification System database (for fingerprint and palm identification) and the DNA profile database CODIS.

Swiss passport and identity card The Services directorate is the competent federal office for the Swiss passport and identity card, and is the interface between the documents’ manufacturers, the issuing authorities (cantons and Swiss diplomatic missions abroad) and the public. It is also responsible for developing new documents such as the e-passport containing biometric data, operating the identity documents information system (ISA database) and providing the public with information.

Identity and legitimation documents The Services directorate maintains an identity document reference collection database containing information on identity and legitimation documents from countries around the world. It co-ordinates inquiries on identity documents and registers cases of identity document misuse. The Coordination Unit for Identity and Legitimation Documents (KILA) issues the police, Border Guard Corps and other authorised agencies in Switzerland and abroad with certificates that verify the data contained in electronic identity documents.

Arms and explosives The Services directorate is the supervisory body for the enforcement of arms and explosives legislation. It monitors the import and manufacture of explosives and pyrotechnical objects, and the import of weapons and ammunition into Switzerland. It also issues certificates for the export of weapons and provides advice to private persons, agencies, authorities, and representatives from industry.

Violence at sporting events The Services directorate assists in fighting violence at sporting events. It operates the HOOGAN database, functions as National Football Information Point (NFIP) and is Single Point of Contact at international sporting events involving Switzerland.

Police information systems The Services directorate is responsible for fedpol’s main IT needs. It plans, develops and operates the national police databases RIPOL, JANUS, IPAS and ORMA, and manages various IT projects. It is also in charge of operating and developing the Schengen Information System interface, co-ordinating automatic data exchange with international partner agencies and co-ordinating technical matters between the EU and Switzerland’s national partners. It plans and manages the processing of police information, and optimises in-house data processing.

Links

to the top Last modification 04.07.2016

Direktionsbereich Dienste

Aufgaben

Der Direktionsbereich Dienste unter der Leitung von Thomas Kräuchi nimmt verwaltungspolizeiliche und unterstützende polizeiliche Aufgaben wahr.

Identifikation von Personen und Spuren. Die Dienste führen mit den AFIS DNA Services das nationale Kompetenz- und Dienstleistungszentrum für die auf biometrischen Merkmalen basierende Identifikation von Personen und Spuren. Diese Identifikation erfolgt mit dem «Automatisierten Fingerabdruck-Identifikations-System»AFIS (Fingerabdruck- und Handballendaten) sowie mittels der DNA-Profil-Datenbank CODIS.

Schweizer Pass und Identitätskarte. Zum Direktionsbereich gehört die Vollzugsbehörde des Bundes im Bereich der Schweizer Ausweise (Pass und Identitätskarte), die Schnittstelle zwischen den Produzenten der Ausweise, den ausstellenden Behörden (Kantone, Schweizer Auslandvertretungen) sowie den Bürgerinnen und Bürgern ist. Die Dienste sind für die Neuentwicklungen von Schweizer Ausweisen zuständig, wie zum Beispiel für den Pass mit elektronisch gespeicherten biometrischen Daten (E-Pass). Der Direktionsbereich führt das Informationssystem Ausweisschriften (ISA) und steht Privatpersonen für Auskünfte zur Verfügung.

Identitäts- und Legitimationsausweise. Der Direktionsbereich führt die Datenbank für Identitäts- und Legitimationsausweise aller Länder (Ausweisreferenzsammlung), koordiniert Anfragen zu Ausweisen und erfasst Ausweismissbräuche. Die Koordinationsstelle Identitäts- und Legitimationsausweise (KILA) stellt der Polizei, dem Grenzwachtkorps und weiteren berechtigten Behörden in der Schweiz und im Ausland die Zertifikate zur Verfügung, die zur Überprüfung der Daten in den neuen elektronischen Ausweisen benötigt werden.

Waffen und Sprengstoff. Zu den Diensten gehört die Oberaufsicht über den Vollzug der Waffen- und Sprengstoffgesetzgebung. Der Direktionsbereich kontrolliert Einfuhr und Herstellung von Sprengmitteln und pyrotechnischen Gegenständen sowie die Einfuhr von Waffen und Munition in die Schweiz. Er stellt Begleitscheine bei der Ausfuhr von Waffen aus und berät Ämter, Behörden, Wirtschaftsvertreter sowie Privatpersonen.

Gewalt bei Sportveranstaltungen. Die Dienste unterstützen die Bekämpfung der Gewalt bei Sportveranstaltungen. Dazu führt der Direktionsbereich das elektronische Informationssystem HOOGAN, nimmt die Funktion des «National Football Information Point» wahr und agiert bei internationalen Sportveranstaltungen mit Schweizer Beteiligung als «Single Point of Contact».

Polizeiinformatik. Der Direktionsbereich betreut die für fedpol zentralen Informatikthemen. Er plant, betreibt, entwickelt und betreut die nationalen Polizeisysteme RIPOL, JANUS, IPAS und ORMA und leitet die IT-Projekte des Amtes. Er betreibt und entwickelt die Schnittstellen an das Schengener Informationssystem SIS, koordiniert den automatisierten Datenaustausch mit dem Ausland und ist für die technische Koordination zwischen der EU und den nationalen Partnern zuständig. Die Dienste planen, steuern und standardisieren die polizeiliche Informationsverarbeitung und regeln und optimieren die Informationsverarbeitung im Amt.

Links

nach oben Letzte Änderung 29.06.2017