Traffic fines from abroad

If you receive a traffic fine from abroad we advise you to pay it, otherwise you can expect further sanctions, such as an entry in the crime alert database, a ban on entering the country from which you have received the fine, or an increased penalty charge. If you revisit the country from which you have received a fine but not payed up, your car may even be confiscated. Or you may be subject to imprisonment.

Foreign authorities sometimes appoint private companies to recover fines imposed on public land. These are considered as private legal debts and may be collected by Swiss debt-collection agencies.

If you doubt the authenticity of a fine from abroad, contact the foreign police service responsible or, depending on the sender address, the appropriate local authority or company that has issued the fine.

The measures on non-payment of a fine vary from country to country. Below you can find information regarding measures by Switzerland’s neighbouring countries and the Netherlands

France

Switzerland and France have signed an agreement on certain aspects of traffic legislation, such as parking and speeding offences. On request, both countries provide mutual assistance in enforcing fines. That means the Swiss authorities can enforce the payment of fines issued by the French authorities to Swiss motorists, and vice versa. Electronic data is exchanged between the two countries via EUCARIS (European Car and Driving Licence Information System).

Germany

Switzerland and Germany have signed a police cooperation agreement that includes provisions on traffic legislation. Both countries exchange data on vehicles and vehicle owners on request, regardless of how high the fine is.

Italy

There is no agreement between Switzerland and Italy regulating traffic fines. Some Italian communes, for example Milan or Florence, have outsourced debt collection to private companies. Fines from Italy should be paid within the deadline because Italy imposes high reminder fees. Appeals must be made in writing and in Italian.
E.M.O. European Municipality Outsourcing

Austria/Principality of Liechtenstein

The current trilateral agreement does not regulate cooperation on fines. However, a new agreement will come into force in the second half of 2017 that will provide for the future exchange of vehicle and vehicle owner information on request.

Netherlands

Both countries can impose direct fines for traffic offences; the appropriate cantonal police service and the Dienst Wegverkeer (RDW) in Zoetermeer exchange vehicle owner information on request. Fines from the Dutch authorities should be paid on time because reminder fees for overdue fines are high and offenders can end up on the wanted list.

 


Foreign motorists

Foreign motorists who do not pay their Swiss fine and whose fine has subsequently been converted to a prison sentence are registered in the police alert database RIPOL for a period of up to three years. 

to the top Last modification 05.09.2017

Bussen aus dem Ausland

Bussen von ausländischen Behörden sollten bezahlt werden, denn bei Nichtbezahlung müssen in der Schweiz wohnhafte Lenker mit Massnahmen rechnen. Etwa mit dem Eintrag ins Fahndungssystem, mit einer Einreiseverweigerung oder hohen Mahngebühren. Bei einem weiteren Aufenthalt im entsprechenden Land, kann das Fahrzeug bis zur Bezahlung der Busse beschlagnahmt werden. Möglich ist auch eine ein- oder mehrtägige Haft.
Im Ausland beauftragen Gemeinden auch private Firmen, auf öffentlichem Grund Parkbussen einzufordern. Diese gelten als privatrechtliche Forderungen und können deshalb von Schweizer Inkassobüros eingetrieben werden.

Sollten Sie an der Echtheit der aus dem Ausland zugeschickten Rechnung zweifeln, wenden Sie sich an die offizielle Adresse der betreffenden ausländischen Polizei. Oder, je nach Absender, an die entsprechende Gemeinde, Stadtverwaltung oder an die mit der Bussenverteilung beauftragte Institution.

Die Massnahmen bei Nichtbezahlung einer Rechnung variieren von Land zu Land. Mit den zur Schweiz angrenzenden Staaten und Holland gilt Folgendes:

Italien

Bussen aus Italien sollten fristgerecht bezahlt werden, denn Italien verhängt sehr hohe Mahngebühren.
Es gibt kein Abkommen zwischen Italien und der Schweiz, das die Handhabung von Bussen regelt. Einige italienische Gemeinden (Mailand, Florenz u.a.) haben das Busseninkasso deshalb privaten Firmen übertragen. Eine Einsprache kann nur schriftlich und in Italienisch eingelegt werden. 
E.M.O. European Municipality Outsourcing

Frankreich

Die Schweiz und Frankreich haben ein Abkommen unterzeichnet, das die Gesetzgebung des Strassenverkehrs umfasst. Beispielsweise Widerhandlungen wie das Überschreiten der zulässigen Parkzeit oder die Höchstgeschwindigkeit.
Beide Länder leisten Vollstreckungshilfe, wenn eine solche ersucht wird. Das heisst, die Busse aus Frankreich wird von Schweizer Behörden eingetrieben und umgekehrt. Der automatische elektronische Datenaustausch erfolgt über das European Car and Driving Licence Information System (EUCARIS).

Deutschland

Mit Deutschland hat die Schweiz einen Polizeivertrag abgeschlossen, der die Gesetzgebung des Strassenverkehrs umfasst. Daten über das Fahrzeug und den Lenker werden auf Ersuchen automatisch gegenseitig übermittelt, unabhängig von der Höhe der Busse.

Österreich/Fürstentum Liechtenstein

Der neue trilaterale Vertrag beinhaltet detaillierte Regelungen für die Verfolgung von Strassenverkehrsbussen. Auf Ersuchen wird die automatische Übermittlung von Fahrzeug- und Halterdaten künftig möglich sein, sobald die technischen Vorbereitungen dafür eingerichtet werden konnten. Die Bussen sind nunmehr auch vollstreckbar. 

Niederlande

Niederländische Bussen sollten fristgerecht bezahlt werden, da Mahngebühren anfallen und bei Nichtbezahlen die Niederländische Fahndungsliste droht.
Beide Länder können Bussen wegen Zuwiderhandeln von Vorschriften im Strassenverkehr direkt zustellen; auf Ersuchen um Ermittlung von Fahrzeughaltern geben die jeweilige Kantonspolizei und der Dienst Wegverkeer (RDW) in Zoetermeer einander gegenseitig Auskunft.  

   


In der Schweiz werden ausländische Lenker, deren Bussen nicht bezahlt und in Haft umgewandelt wurden, im schweizerischen Fahndungssystem (RIPOL) ausgeschrieben. Die Massnahme gilt im Zeitraum von bis zu drei Jahren. 

nach oben Letzte Änderung 13.09.2018