The Swiss Coordination Unit against the Trafficking of Persons and Smuggling of Migrants (KSMM)

human trafficking

Trafficking in persons, according to the internationally accepted definition, is the recruitment, transportation, harbouring or receipt of persons for the purpose of exploitation and is a punishable offence in Switzerland under Article 182 of the Swiss Criminal Code.

Migrant smuggling, defined as facilitating a person’s illegal entry into Switzerland or another Schengen member state or abetting a person in illegally staying there or in leaving the country illegally, is a punishable offence under the Foreign Nationals Act.

Combating human trafficking and migrant smuggling involves various aspects relating to victim protection, law enforcement and prevention. Responsibility for these areas lies in part with the federal authorities and in part with the cantons. The Swiss Coordination Unit against the Trafficking of Persons and Smuggling of Migrants (KSMM), whose permanent secretariat is incorporated into the Federal Office of Police (fedpol), has facilitated co-ordination since 2003 between all the agencies involved. The Unit develops strategies and tools to counter this form of crime with the primary goal of protecting victims and bringing perpetrators to justice.

More information is available on the KSMM website.

Service de coordination contre la traite d'êtres humains et le trafic de migrants (SCOTT)

traite des êtres humains

Selon la définition retenue au niveau international, la "traite des êtres humains" consiste à recruter des personnes, à offrir leurs services, à les transférer, à les entremettre par le biais d'intermédiaires, à les héberger ou à les accueillir en vue de leur exploitation. Il s'agit en Suisse d'une infraction sanctionnée par l'art. 182 du code pénal (CP).

Le trafic de migrants, soit l'aide apportée dans le but de faire entrer ou séjourner une personne illégalement en Suisse ou dans un autre Etat Schengen ou de la faire quitter illégalement un de ces pays, est rendue pénalement répréhensible par la loi fédérale sur les étrangers.

La lutte contre la traite des êtres humains et le trafic de migrants et la prévention de ces phénomènes concernent différents domaines comme la prévention, la protection des victimes et la poursuite pénale et relèvent tantôt de la compétence de la Confédération, tantôt de celle des cantons. Le Service de coordination contre la traite d'êtres humains et le trafic de migrants (SCOTT), dont le Bureau de direction permanent est rattaché à l'Office fédéral de la police, assure depuis 2003 la coordination entre les différents services concernés et met au point des instruments et des stratégies de lutte contre ces formes de criminalité. L'objectif du SCOTT est de protéger les victimes et de punir les responsables.

Plus d'informations sur le site Internet du SCOTT.