The Federal Office of Police fedpol – a short portrait

The Federal Office of Police (fedpol) is responsible for all police tasks under federal jurisdiction. The relatively new office was established in 2000 and has its headquarters in Bern. Fedpol currently employs over 870 staff.

The new Federal Office of Police (fedpol) was established in 2000 under the reorganisation project known as “Strupol” whose objective was to merge all federal police tasks into one agency. On 1 January 2002 the so-called Efficiency Bill (comprising measures to improve efficiency and the rule of law in law enforcement) came into force, thus conferring on the federal police and prosecution authorities greater procedural responsibilities for fighting transnational organised crime, money laundering, corruption and economic crime.

The last reorganisation took place with effect from 1 January 2009 as a result of the Federal Council’s decision of 21 May 2008 to transfer the National Intelligence Centre and those units of the Service for Analysis and Prevention (SAP) responsible for intelligence tasks from the Federal Department of Justice and Police to the Federal Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sports. The remaining SAP units were subsequently integrated into other fedpol divisions. Fedpol also took this opportunity to improve management procedures and optimise synergy and internal structures.

Today, fedpol’s tasks include criminal investigations, security duties and administrative tasks. It also provides support to its federal and cantonal partners, and co-ordinates certain police tasks.

Criminal investigations
Criminal investigations are conducted by the Federal Criminal Police (FCP) on behalf of the Office of the Attorney General of Switzerland (OAG). The investigations are usually of great complexity and of an international and/or interdisciplinary nature. The number of cases involving terrorism, terrorist financing, economic crime, organised crime, national security and mutual assistance are increasing all the time. Likewise on the increase is technological development, criminals’ know-how and co-operation between individual criminal groups.

Security duties
Fedpol’s security duties are carried out by the Federal Security Service (FSS). The Service is responsible for ensuring the security of federal officials (members of government, members of parliament, civil servants) and of people and buildings afforded protection under international law. The FSS is also responsible for the recruitment, training and deployment of air and ground marshals on board Swiss aircraft and at certain sensitive destinations abroad. The Special Task Force for Hostage-taking and Blackmail, which is activated in the event that federal authorities or foreign authorites become subject to blackmail, has also been integrated into the FSS since 1 January 2009. The FSS is also charged with defining the structural, technical and organisational security concept for federal buildings in Switzerland (including the private residence of federal councillors and the property of officials deemed to be at risk) and the security of Swiss embassies and consulates abroad. The Service has its own security personnel, which it deploys in the parliamentary buildings and other federal buildings. In addition, it operates the Federal Alert Centre, which takes emergency calls relating to attacks, burglaries and fires as well as other alert systems.

Administrative tasks

Another of fedpol’s mandates includes administrative and co-ordination tasks such as; issuing orders with regard to the import of arms and explosives; issuing entry bans; fighting violence at sporting events; combating violent propaganda; and federal tasks in connection with issuing identity documents. In the field of Internet crime, the Cybercrime Coordination Unit Switzerland (CYCO) – which is jointly financed by the federal and cantonal authorities – is responsible for searching the Internet and identifying suspect subject matter (e.g. child pornography, sexual acts with children), which it then forwards to the competent cantonal law enforcement agency.

The Money Laundering Reporting Office Switzerland (MROS) is another fedpol office with administrative duties. MROS receives suspicious activity reports from financial intermediaries on activities that may constitute money laundering or terrorist financing, or that may involve illegal money or criminal organisations. It gathers and analyses the data and forwards the information to the appropriate federal or cantonal prosecution authority if there is reasonable suspicion that offence has been committed.

Support and co-ordination
Fedpol’s support and co-ordination tasks are carried out by various sections within the Federal Criminal Police (FCP), the International Police Co-operation Division (IPC), the Services Division and the Directorate Staff office. The incidents in summer 2009 involving a Swiss pharmaceutical company are an example of fedpol’s co-ordination role: following several attacks on high-ranking members of a well-known pharmaceutical company probably by militant animal rights activists, the FCP co-ordinated the investigations in Switzerland and abroad and the exchange of information between the partner agencies involved. The cantons, however, remain responsible for carrying out the criminal investigations.

The International Police Co-operation Division (IPC) is responsible for all fedpol’s international activities. Its tasks include the strategic and operational aspects relating to co-operation with Europol, INTERPOL and Schengen, as well as bilateral and multilateral police co-operation. Switzerland’s national SIRENE office (SIRENE = Supplementary Information Request at the National Entry), which is the contact point for all police alerts in the Schengen Information System, is also incorporated into the IPC. The division is also in charge of deploying Swiss police officers abroad in connection with international police operations (e.g. UNO missions), and it manages the police and customs co-operation centres (PCCCs) in Geneva and Chiasso, which facilitate co-operation in these two areas with the French and Italian authorities. Last but not least, the IPC is responsible for the ongoing deployment of Swiss police attachés abroad (established in 1995) who assist the Swiss police and prosecution authorities in fighting cross-border crime.

Another of fedpol’s mandatory tasks is to provide its national and international partners (i.e. foreign and cantonal police corps, border guards corps, migration authorities, INTERPOL, etc.) with access to central police information systems such as the RIPOL database (national search database) or the AFIS database (automated fingerprint identification system). Other supportive tasks are carried out by the Swiss Coordination Unit Against the Trafficking of Persons and Smuggling of Migrants (KSMM), which, together with numerous federal and cantonal agencies as well as non-governmental and international organisations, develops strategies and tools with regard to the prevention and prosecution of human trafficking and smuggling and in the field of victim protection.

L'Office fédéral de la police se présente

Les tâches de police de la Confédération sont concentrées au sein de l'Office fédéral de la police (fedpol). Constitué en 2000 et donc relativement récent. Il emploie plus de 870 collaborateurs et a son siège à Berne.

L'Office fédéral de la police (fedpol) a été constitué en 2000, suite à la réorganisation dite "Strupol". Cette réorganisation a réuni dans un même office toutes les unités qui accomplissaient des tâches de police au niveau fédéral. Les "mesures tendant à l'amélioration de l'efficacité et de la légalité dans la poursuite pénale" sont entrées en vigueur au 1er janvier 2002. En vertu dudit "projet d'efficacité", les autorités fédérales de poursuite pénale et de police disposent de nouvelles compétences procédurales en matière de lutte contre le crime organisé, le blanchiment d'argent, la corruption et la criminalité économique.

La dernière réorganisation a eu lieu après que l'office a mis en œuvre la décision du Conseil fédéral du 21 mai 2008 prévoyant de transférer, au 1er janvier 2009, les parties du Service d'analyse et de prévention (SAP) assumant des tâches de renseignement ainsi que le Centre fédéral de situation au Département fédéral de la défense, de la protection de la population et des sports (DDPS). Parallèlement, fedpol a, dans le cadre d'un projet de réorganisation interne, intégré les domaines du SAP n'ayant pas été transférés au DDPS dans le reste de l'office, amélioré ses processus, dégagé des synergies et optimisé son organisation dans certains secteurs.

A l'heure actuelle, fedpol accomplit des tâches de police judiciaire, de police de sécurité et de police administrative ainsi que des tâches de soutien et de coordination à l'intention des autorités partenaires de la Confédération et des cantons.

Tâches de police judiciaire
Les procédures d'enquête de police sont menées par la Police judiciaire fédérale (PJF), sur mandat du Ministère public de la Confédération (MPC). Elles se distinguent par leur grande complexité et par leur caractère international et interdisciplinaire. Les affaires relevant du terrorisme et de son financement, de la criminalité économique, du crime organisé, de la protection de l'Etat et de l'entraide judiciaire sont en constante augmentation. On constate également une évolution en ce qui concerne le développement technologique, le savoir-faire des auteurs et les connexions entre différents groupes.

Tâches de police de sécurité
Les tâches de police de sécurité de fedpol sont assumées par le Service fédéral de sé-
curité (SFS). Ce dernier met en place les mesures destinées aux personnalités de la Confédération nécessitant une protection (magistrats, parlementaires, employés de la Confédération) et aux personnes et infrastructures jouissant d'une protection en vertu du droit international public. Le SFS est par ailleurs responsable du recrutement, de la formation et de l'engagement de personnel assurant la sécurité à bord des aéronefs suisses et dans certains aéroports à l'étranger. En outre, depuis le 1er janvier 2009, l'Etat-major Prise d'otage et chantage (EMPOC) est intégré dans le SFS. L'EMPOC est un instrument interdépartemental qui intervient lorsque des actes de chantage sont exercés sur des autorités de la Confédération ou sur des Etats étrangers. Le SFS établit également les concepts de sécurité d'ordre architectonique, technique et organisationnel destinés aux bâtiments de l'administration fédérale civile, y compris les domiciles privés des conseillers fédéraux, les biens immobiliers des employés de la Confédération exposés à des risques et les représentations suisses à l'étranger (ambassades et consulats). Il dispose de personnel agissant sur le terrain en vue d'assurer la sécurité du Palais du Parlement et d'autres bâtiments fédéraux. Il gère en outre la centrale d'alarme de la Confédération, qui reçoit en cas d'urgence les messages d’alerte en cas d'attaque à main armée, de cambriolage ou d’incendie, ainsi que les signaux provenant d'autres systèmes d'alarme.

Tâches de police administrative

Les tâches de police administrative comprennent en premier lieu les tâches de police de nature administrative et les tâches de coordination. Elles comprennent notamment les tâches consistant à prendre des décisions concernant l'importation d'armes et d'explosifs, à prononcer des interdictions d'entrée, à lutter contre la violence lors de manifestations sportives, à lutter contre la propagande incitant à la violence et à effectuer les tâches en lien avec l'établissement des documents d'identité. Dans le domaine de la cybercriminalité, le Service de coordination en matière de lutte contre la criminalité sur Internet (SCOCI), financé par la Confédération et les cantons, est chargé d'identifier les contenus suspects sur Internet et de les mettre à la disposition des autorités compétentes. Il s'agit par exemple de transmettre aux autorités cantonales de poursuite pénale compétentes les cas de soupçons concrets de pornographie enfantine et d'actes sexuels commis sur des enfants.

Le Bureau de communication en matière de blanchiment d'argent (MROS) de fedpol, qui accomplit également des tâches de police administrative, joue un rôle de relais et de filtre entre les intermédiaires financiers et les autorités de poursuite pénale. Conformément à la loi sur le blanchiment d'argent, ce service national central reçoit, analyse et, si nécessaire, transmet aux autorités de poursuite pénale les communications de soupçons des intermédiaires financiers relatives au blanchiment d'argent, au financement du terrorisme, aux fonds d'origine criminelle ou aux organisations criminelles.

Tâches de soutien et de coordination
Les tâches policières de soutien et de coordination de fedpol sont assumées par différentes unités de la PJF, des divisions principales Coopération policière internationale (CPI) et Services ainsi que par l'Etat-major. Afin d'illustrer en quoi consistent ces tâches de coordination, voici un exemple récent: en été 2009, des hauts dirigeants de l'industrie pharmaceutique suisse ont été à plusieurs reprises la cible d'infractions vraisemblablement commises par des militants de la cause animale. La PJF coordonne les enquêtes en cours en Suisse et à l'étranger ainsi que l'échange d'informations entre les partenaires. Les cantons demeurent responsables de l'enquête pénale.

Les tâches internationales de l'office sont accomplies par la CPI. Le domaine d'activité comprend les volets stratégiques et opérationnels dans le domaine d'Europol, d'INTERPOL, de Schengen ainsi que la coopération policière bilatérale et multilatérale. Rattaché à la CPI, le bureau SIRENE (SIRENE = Supplementary Information Request at the National Entry) est le point de contact national pour toutes les recherches lancées via le Système d'information Schengen. La CPI est par ailleurs chargée du détachement de policiers suisses dans le cadre d'engagements internationaux de police (par ex. missions de l'ONU). Cette division principale dirige aussi les centres de coopération policière et douanière (CCPD) de Genève et Chiasso, qui permettent une coopération plus rapide et plus efficace avec la France et l'Italie dans le domaine policier et douanier. Enfin, la CPI est responsable des attachés de police suisses détachés à l'étranger par fedpol depuis 1995, lesquels soutiennent les autorités policières et de poursuite pénale suisses dans la lutte contre la criminalité transfrontalière.

L'une des missions de fedpol consiste à mettre à la disposition de ses partenaires nationaux et internationaux (polices d'Etats étrangers et polices cantonales, Corps des gardes-frontière, autorités chargées des migrations, INTERPOL, etc.) l'infrastructure policière centrale suisse. En font par exemple partie les systèmes RIPOL (système national de recherches informatisées de police) ou AFIS (système automatique d'identification des empreintes digitales). D'autres tâches de soutien sont effectuées par le Service de coordination contre la traite d'êtres humains et le trafic de migrants (SCOTT). Ce service rassemble un grand nombre d'autorités et services fédéraux et cantonaux ainsi que d'organisations non gouvernementales et internationales œuvrant dans le domaine de la lutte contre la traite d'êtres humains et le trafic de migrants. En collaboration avec ses membres, le Bureau de direction du SCOTT met au point des stratégies et des instruments de lutte contre la traite d'êtres humains dans les domaines de la prévention, de la poursuite pénale et de la protection des victimes, ainsi que contre le trafic de migrants.