Child sex tourism

Child sex tourism (CST) involves people who commit a criminal offence in engaging in sexual acts with children living in foreign countries.

People engaging in CST take unfair advantage of the fact that law enforcement in other parts of the world often is weaker than it is in their own countries. They also exploit the poverty, social misery, and naivety of the most underprivileged in foreign destinations.

The main intention of sex tourists is to establish contact with minors in order to sexually exploit them.

In Switzerland, the sexual exploitation of children is a criminal offence liable to prosecution under article 187 of the Swiss Criminal Code. Depending on the seriousness of the circumstances of the offence, further penal provisions may apply, such as Article 189 (sexual coercion) and Article 190 (rape).

Swiss federal authorities have stepped up their efforts in fighting CST in recent years. A special unit of the Federal Office of Police dealing with child pornography and pedophilic offences cooperates closely with numerous partner services, both at home and abroad.

Since June 2008, the general public have the possibility of reporting any information regarding child sex tourism cases to the appropriate judicial authorities via Internet.

Kindersextourismus

Unter Kindersextourismus wird die Widerhandlung von sexuellen Übergriffen zum Nachteil von minderjährigen Kindern im Ausland verstanden.

Personen mit solchen Absichten profitieren von den Unterschieden zwischen den geltenden Systemen der Strafverfolgung im betroffenen Land und deren in ihrem Heimatland. Sie missbrauchen ebenfalls die Naivität, die Armut und die sozialen Schwächen von Teilen der Bevölkerung im Ausland, welche besonders vom Phänomen des Sextourismus betroffen sind.

Das grundsätzliche Hauptziel einer Ferienreise für diese Touristen-Kategorie bildet die Kontaktaufnahme mit Kindern zwecks sexueller Ausbeutung.

In der Schweiz wird die Widerhandlung gegen sexuelle Handlungen mit Kindern gestützt auf Art. 187 StGB verfolgt. Je nach Schwere der Delikte können andere Gesetzesartikel angewendet werden (z. B. Art. 189 StGB – sexuelle Nötigung, oder Art. 190 StGB – Vergewaltigung).

In den letzten Jahren wurde der Kampf gegen Kindersextourismus durch die Schweizer Bundesbehörden verstärkt. Das Bundesamt für Polizei verfügt über ein Kommissariat, welches mit der Bearbeitung von Fällen der Pädophilie und Kinderpornografie beauftragt ist. Die Zusammenarbeit erfolgt mit zahlreichen in- und ausländischen Partnern.

Seit Juni 2008 steht der Bevölkerung ein elektronisches Formular zu Verfügung um Ereignisse im Zusammenhang mit Kindersextourismus den Strafverfolgungsbehörden zu melden.