Federal Office of Police

Security measures

During the EURO 2008, members of the cantonal police units, Border Guard Corps, medical and rescue corps, Swiss Armed Forces, private security services and officials of the Federal Office of Police have been on 24-hour duty for four weeks. Close cooperation between all these security forces was absolutely essential in order to ensure that this football tournament – the third largest sporting event in the world – remained a peaceful event bringing nations together.

All the relevant security forces of the host cities, the cantons and the Confederation were joined in the sub-project known as "Security UEFA EURO 2008". This project aimed to ensure that the right security measures were implemented in the right place at the right time to assist the smooth running of the EURO 2008. Due to the federal structure of Switzerland, the host cities and the cantons were primarily responsible for the implementation of security measures in public areas. They were assisted in this task by the federal authorities – including the Federal Office of Police (fedpol) – as part of the Confederation’s regular duties.

Fedpol, for example, assured the protection of foreign visitors who are protected by public international law or was engaged to collect information about possible dangerous incidents. Fedopl operated an event-related information system, which contained about 6500 known "Violaters Sport" reported by other countries. For 230 individuals it was denied to enter Switzerland.

Fedpol also created the basis for the event-related cooperation with the neighbour-states, participant-states and transit-states. To this end, a total of 15 Declarations of Intent - besides the one with EUROPOL - were signed. Furthermore, fedpol organised the support of the German and French police forces in favour of the police corps of the cantons of Basle, Zurich, Bern and Geneva. Finally, fedpol ran the the National Police Information and Coordination Center (PICC).

The PICC is essentially based on fedpol’s National Intelligence Centre, which was located within the Service for Analysis and Prevention (SAP). The Centre was managed by the head of SAP and has temporarily been reinforced with experts from various departments of the Federal Administration (e.g. from the Strategic Intelligence Service, the Military Intelligence Service, the National Alert Centre etc.), from the various cantonal police corps and from abroad.

The PICC gathered and analysed information under the EURO 2008 intelligence network, and carried out an overall situation assessment for the EURO 2008. The Centre was the Single Point of Contact in all police matters such as the coordination of the operations of police officers from participating states familiar with the football scene and the operation of the electronic situation report. Besides this, the PICC ensured the exchange of information with the PICC Austria. The classified situation reports were available to specified people within the government, the police and the civil administration.

Bundesamt für Polizei

Sicherheitsmassnahmen

Während gut vier Wochen sind Angehörige der Polizeikorps, des Grenzwachtkorps, der Sanitäts- und Rettungsdienste, der Armee, des Bundesamtes für Polizei sowie von privaten Sicherheitsdiensten rund um die Uhr zu Gunsten der Sicherheit der EURO 2008 im Einsatz gestanden. Damit der drittgrösste Sportanlass der Welt zu dem friedlichen und völkerverbindenden Fussballfest werden konnte, war eine enge Zusammenarbeit all dieser Sicherheitskräfte unabdingbar.

Alle beteiligten Sicherheitskräfte der Austragungsorte, der Kantone und des Bundes waren im so genannten "Teilprojekt Sicherheit UEFA EURO 2008" zusammengeschlossen. Aufgabe dieses Teilprojektes war es, günstige Voraussetzungen dafür zu schaffen, dass zum richtigen Zeitpunkt am richtigen Ort die richtigen Massnahmen getroffen werden können. Für die Umsetzung dieser Massnahmen im öffentlichen Raum waren, entsprechend der föderalistischen Kompetenzenregelung, in erster Linie die Host Citys und die Kantone verantwortlich. Die Organe des Bundes, und damit auch das Bundesamt für Polizei, unterstützten diese im Rahmen ihrer angestammten Aufgaben.

Fedpol war mithin etwa bei der Gewährung völkerrechtlichen Schutzes für offizielle ausländischer Besucherinnen und Besucher und bei der Beschaffung von Informationen über mögliche Gefährdungen des Anlasses engagiert. Es betrieb ein anlassbezogenes Informationssystem, in dem rund 6500 aktenkundige «Gewalttäter Sport» verzeichnet waren, welche andere Staaten gemeldet hatten. 230 Einreiseverbote wurden verhängt.

fedpol hatte auch die Grundlagen für die anlassbezogene polizeiliche Zusammenarbeit mit den Teilnehmer-, Anrainer- und Transitstaaten geschaffen. Neben jener mit Europol wurden dazu insgesamt 15 Absichtserklärungen unterzeichnet. Zudem organisierte auch fedpol die Unterstützung der Polizeikorps von Basel, Zürich und Genf durch Ordnungsdienstkräfte aus Deutschland und Frankreich. Und schliesslich betrieb fedpol das nationale Police Information and Coordination Center (PICC).
Das PICC basierte im Kern auf dem Bundeslagezentrum des Dienstes für Analyse und Prävention (DAP, fedpol). Es wurde temporär durch den Beizug von Experten aus der Bundesverwaltung (SND, MND, NAZ, etc.), den kantonalen Polizeikorps und dem Ausland verstärkt. Das PICC stand unter der Leitung des Chefs DAP.

Das PICC sammelte und analysierte Informationen im Rahmen des Nachrichtenverbundes EURO 2008 und erstellte das integrale Lagebild EURO 2008, auf das sich alle Partner stützen konnten. Das PICC war Single Point of Contact in allen Belangen der polizeilichen Lage, koordinierte die Einsätze der szenekundigen Beamten aus den EURO-Teilnehmerstaaten, betrieb die Elektronische Lagedarstellung (ELD) und stellte den Informationsaustausch mit dem PICC Österreich sicher. Die klassifizierten Lageberichte und ein laufendes Ereignisjournal standen den Adressaten der Politik, der Polizei und der Verwaltung während der EURO 2008 jederzeit auf der ELD zur Verfügung.