EURO 2008

The EURO 2008 in Austria and Switzerland took place between June 7th and 29th June 2008. Switzerland was visited by about three million spectators. To ensure the safety of the visitors and participants of the event as well as the local population the Swiss security forces, in close co-operation with their foreign partners, hook special security measures. The police, Swiss Armed Forces, border guard corps, railway police, fire-brigade, medical services and civil protection as well as all the other public security organs and private security services worked closely together under a national security plan that stood under the motto "Security Through Co-operation". As mentioned at the national media conference on June 26th 2008, this cooperation worked excellently.

The Federal Department of Justice and Police (FDJP) ─ as an important partner of various security forces ─ was involved in the following areas:

  • The Federal Office for Migration (FOM) examines under what conditions individuals may enter Switzerland. Under existing legislation, persons from states requiring a visa (e.g. Russia, Ukraine, Serbia) would normally have required two separate visas for entering Austria and Switzerland. For the EURO 2008, however, visitors to the event enjoyed facilitated entry; the Schengen visa issued by Austria also allowed entering Switzerland during the tournament.
  • The Federal Office of Police (fedpol) faced challenges on all fronts; granting protection to foreign visitors afforded protection under international law and gathering information on potential threats to the event, to name just two examples. Besides this, fedpol was in charge of setting up models for police co-operation with the participating, neighbouring and transit countries with regard to the individual events. To this end, a total of 15 Declarations of Intent ─ besides the one with EUROPOL ─ were signed. Fedpol also organised the support of German and French forces responsible for maintaining public order. And finally, fedpol operated the national Police Information and Coordination Centre (PICC).

EURO 2008

Vom 7. bis zum 29. Juni 2008 hat in Österreich und der Schweiz die EURO 2008 stattgefunden. Gut drei Millionen Menschen besuchten den Anlass in der Schweiz. Für sie sowie für die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des Fussballturniers und für die einheimische Bevölkerung spannten gemeinsam ein flexibles Sicherheitsnetz, in enger Zusammenarbeit mit ausländischen Partnern. Polizei, Armee, Grenzwachtkorps, Bahnpolizei, Feuerwehr, Sanität, Zivilschutz sowie alle übrigen öffentlichen Sicherheitsorgane und die privaten Sicherheitsdienstleister arbeiteten eng zusammen - gestützt auf das Nationale Sicherheitskonzept, das unter dem Motto «Sicherheit durch Kooperation» stand. Diese Zusammenarbeit klappte «vortrefflich», wie an der nationalen Bilanzmedienkonferenz vom 26. Juni 2008 betont werden konnte.

Das Eidg. Justiz- und Polizeidepartement (EJPD) als wichtiger Partner der verschiedenen Sicherheitskräfte engagierte sich in folgenden Bereichen für diesen Grossanlass:

  • Das Bundesamt für Migration ist u. a. damit tätig, unter welchen Bedingungen jemand in die Schweiz einreisen darf. Bei der EURO 2008 hätten, gemäss geltendem Recht, visumspflichtige Personen (z. B. aus Russland, Ukraine, Serbien) zwei separate Visa für Österreich und die Schweiz beantragen müssen. Für die Besucher der EURO 2008 wurde die Einreise allerdings erleichtert: Die von Österreich ausgestellten Schengenvisa berechtigten während dieser Zeit auch zur Einreise in die Schweiz.
  • Das Bundesamt für Polizei (fedpol) war in allen seinen Aufgabenbereichen gefordert: Bei der Gewährung völkerrechtlichen Schutzes für offizielle ausländischer Besucherinnen und Besucher und bei der Beschaffung von Informationen über mögliche Gefährdungen des Anlasses, um nur zwei Beispiele zu nennen. Daneben hatte fedpol auch die Grundlagen für die anlassbezogene polizeiliche Zusammenarbeit mit den Teilnehmer-, Anrainer- und Transitstaaten erarbeitet. Hier wurden, neben jener mit Europol, insgesamt 15 Absichtserklärungen unterzeichnet. fedpol organisierte zudem die Unterstützung durch Ordnungsdienstkräfte aus Deutschland und Frankreich. Und schliesslich betrieb fedpol das nationale Police Information and Coordination Center (PICC).