FAQ – Frequently asked questions


Please note that the general visa and entry procedure is described in detail in our information sheet:

1. General information on entry and visa procedures


2. Special information on Schengen

Entry with a Schengen visa

Schengen visas are accepted in conjunction with a valid travel document for entry into Switzerland. If not otherwise noted, the Schengen visa is valid for all Schengen member states.

The authority responsible for issuing the visa is the embassy of the country in which you plan your main stay. If you are travelling to various countries, it is the embassy of the country that you plan to visit first.

It does not matter which airport you arrive at or depart from, providing you stay no longer than 90 days within 180 days in the Schengen area. The number of entries applies to the whole of the Schengen area and not just to individual member countries (if not otherwise noted on the visa). Therefore you may travel throughout the whole of the Schengen area on the same visa for the duration of its validity.

Please note that Great Britain, Ireland, Romania, Bulgaria and Cyprus are not part of the Schengen area and you therefore require separate visas for these two countries. The Principality of Liechtenstein has been part of the Schengen area since 19 December 2011.

If you have any questions, please contact the Swiss Embassy responsible for the area in which you reside:
Swiss representations Swiss representations



3. Border-crossing / Travel documents


4. For hosts in Switzerland


5. Travelling in the Schengen area with a Swiss residence permit


6. Questions on granted or refused visas


7. Long-term residency in Switzerland (more than 90 days) / Employment in Switzerland


8. Other questions